Legislative Committee

The Association President and the Legislative Committee Chairman and members of the legislative committee monitor all insurance related legislation on your behalf during sessions of the Maryland General Assembly. Members are provided with timely legislative bulletins outlining those issues/bills which affect our business. The Association has been involved in the passage of a number of legislative proposals helpful to the Independent Agent and the Maryland Assembly. Conversely, we have successfully opposed measures which would have been counter-productive. The Maryland Big "I" was instrumental in the organization and development of the Maryland Agents Political Action Committee (MAPAC). This is a separate, non-profit, non-partisan, political action committee. It functions to aid those candidates for legislative or statewide office who understand the problems and needs of the independent agent.

Meet the Committee

Committee Chair

Jay Duke

Waring-Ahearn Insurance Agency, Inc.

(P) 301-475-5541

(E) jay@waring-ahearn.com

Legislative Advisor

Brett S. Lininger, Esq.

Kress Hammen Government Affairs

Big I MD Liaison

Rebekah Langford

Big I Maryland

(P) 410-766-0600

(E) rebekah@bigimd.com

Committee Member

Michael McCartin, CPCU

Joseph W. McCartin Insurance

(P) 301-937-5120

(E) mike@mccartin.com

Committee Member

Stacey Nicholson, CIC, CPCU

CNR Insurance, Inc.

(P) 410-897-9890

(E) stacey@cnrinsurance.com

Committee Member

Brad Reeves

Reeves Insurance Agency

(P) 301-904-5234

(E) breeves@md.metrocast.net

Our Mission

To ensure the success of independent insurance producers and agency staff throughout Maryland by providing access to a suite of top tier products and services.

     2408 Peppermill Dr., Ste A Glen Burnie, MD 21061

     (410)-766-0600

     info@bigimd.com

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management